Books That Take Time to Love (or Appreciate)

Have you ever read a book that you initially didn't like--or even hated--and then you later realized your initial opinion was all wrong? It happens to me fairly regularly. I think that's because I'm a slow thinker. One of my wonderful colleagues once told me there are two kinds of thinkers: microwaves and crock-pots. She …

Continue reading Books That Take Time to Love (or Appreciate)

Review: The Female Persuasion by Meg Wolitzer

Elevator Pitch: A bookish girl, Greer Kadetsky, heads off to college and discovers all of the ways the world is sympathetic to men (especially rich white men), often at the expense of women. After meeting Faith Frank, a famous feminist in the vein of Gloria Steinem, Greer devote herself to feminist cause. Greer's exciting new …

Continue reading Review: The Female Persuasion by Meg Wolitzer

My TBR

All my library holds came in at exactly the same time, just when I received my book-of-the-month pick. Here's what's on tap for the next couple of weeks. Here's what I'll be reading over the next few weeks. I'm starting with Stephen McCauley's My Ex-Life. He's been one of my favorite authors since high school/college. …

Continue reading My TBR